TSA announces the establishment of the Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee

Monday, April 8, 2019
Transportation Security Administration National Press Release
WASHINGTON – The Transportation Security Administration announced today that the Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee has been established in accordance with Section 1969 of Public Law No: 115-254. The STSAC will be composed of voting members representing surface transportation providers and users, and nonvoting members representing federal departments and agencies with surface transportation oversight. 
The STSAC will report to TSA Administrator David Pekoske and will provide recommendations on surface transportation security matters, including the development, refinement, and implementation of policies, programs, initiatives, rulemakings, and security directives. 
“I look forward to collaborating closely with the newly appointed members of the Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee,” said Pekoske. “The knowledge and expertise these leaders bring to the table will play a vital role in TSA’s continued efforts to safeguard the nation’s surface transportation systems.” 
Administrator Pekoske has appointed 35 voting members, listed below, to the STSAC. 
Mass Transit and Passenger Rail: 
1. Jaime E. Becerra, Chief of Transit Enforcement/Deputy Chief of Safety & Security, North County Transit District  
2. Edward A. Bruce, Director of Intelligence, New Jersey Transit 
3. Robert J. Finnegan, Captain, Police Administration, Delaware River Port Authority Police 
4. Robert P. Gatchell, Chief Safety & Security Officer, Go Brightline 
5. Polly Hanson, Director of Security, Risk and Emergency Management, American Public Transportation Association 
6. Ivan T. Mote, Chief Safety Officer, Jacksonville Transportation Authority  
7. Ronald A. Pavlik, Jr., Chief of Police, Metro Transit Police Department 
8. Joe Perez, Chief of Police & Security, Northeast Illinois Commuter Railroad 
9. Lisa Ann Shahade, Deputy Chief of Police for Strategic Operations, Amtrak 
Freight Rail: 
1. Greg Bretzing, Senior Vice President, Global Security, Safety and Corporate Affairs, The Greenbrier Companies, Inc. 
2. Thomas L. Farmer, Assistant Vice President of Security, Association of American Railroads 
3. Herschel Flowers, Homeland Security Manager, Kansas City Southern Railway 
4. Edward R. Gelnar, Jr., Vice President of Safety and Compliance, American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association 
5. Donald B. Loftis, Principle Software Engineer, Olin Corporation 
1. Kimberly A. Denbow, Senior Director of Security, Operations and Engineering Services, American Gas Association 
2. Rebecca Gagliostro, Director of Security, Reliability and Resilience, The Interstate Natural Gas Association of America 
3. Alfred J. Hancock, Senior Regulatory Security Consultant, Xcel Energy 
4. William L. Hayward, Director of Security, BP Alaska 
Highway and Motor Carrier – Infrastructure:  
5. Natalie Jones-Best, Emergency Preparedness and Risk Manager, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials 
6. Eileen M. Phifer, Safety and Security Administrator, American Association of State 7. Highway and Transportation Officials 
Highway and Motor Carrier – Motor Carrier:  
1. Douglas R. Morris, Director of Safety and Security Operations, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association 
2. Jacob E. Pierce, Deputy Executive Director, Safety Management Council, American Trucking Association 
3. Alexandra Rosen, Customs, Immigration, & Cross-Border Operations Manager, American Trucking Association 
Highway and Motor Carrier – Over-the-Road Bus: 
1. Michael A. Beltranena, Jr., Director of Safety and Security, Coach USA/Suburban Transit Bus Company 
2. Michael J. Licata, President, Community Anti-Terrorism Training Institute 
3. Jason W. Louis, Vice President of Safety, Coach USA 
4. Alan Smith, Director of Safety and Security, Greyhound 
Highway and Motor Carrier – School Bus: 
1. Robert F. Ramsdell, Chief Safety Officer, National Express, LLC 
2. Brian Reu, Lieutenant, Minnesota State Patrol, State Director of Pupil Transportation, National Association of State Directors of Pupil Transportation Services 
Groups Representing the Users of Surface Transportation: 
3. Joseph A. DeLuca, Chief Compliance Officer, Secure Worker Access Consortium 
4. Jennifer C. Gibson, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, National Association of Chemical Distributors 
5. Robyn S. Kinsley, Vice President Transportation and Emergency Preparedness, The Chlorine Institute 
6. K. Denise Rucker Krepp, locally elected official, Advisory Neighborhood Committee 
7. Jonathan R. Todd, Partner, Transportation & Logistics Practice Group, Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff LLP 
8. Dr. Patricia P. Woodbury, Council Member, City of Newport News, Virginia 
In addition to the 35 voting members mentioned above, six federal departments and agencies with regulatory authority over one or more modes of surface transportation have designated representatives to serve as nonvoting members of the STSAC. There are 14 nonvoting members designated to the committee serving in an advisory capacity from the Department of Defense, Department of Energy, Department of Homeland Security, Department of Transportation, Federal Bureau of Investigation, and National Transportation Safety Board. 
Visit our website to learn more about the Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee. 
The Transportation Security Administration was created to strengthen the security of the nation’s transportation systems and ensure the freedom of movement for people and commerce. TSA uses a risk-based strategy and works closely with transportation, law enforcement and intelligence communities to set the standard for excellence in transportation security. For more information about TSA, please visit our website at tsa.gov.

Upcoming Events

No Upcoming Events Scheduled

Twitter Feed

Follow Us on Twitter


Follow Us on Facebook